Zum Theater – Because life’s a stage!
The building that now houses our apartments was built in 1905 and purchased by the Catholic Workers’ Association of Colle Isarco in 1906. They used it for various social projects.
Erika Schuster, Joseph Schuster’s daughter, acquired a 25% share of the property in 1931. She struggled for years to acquire the remaining shares, which she finally did in 1987.
During the Fascist era, the playhouse was redesigned and used as a cinema. Parts of the building also belonged to the Ente Nazionale per le Tre Venezie, a Fascist organisation which purchased real estate from German-speaking South Tyroleans so that it could be sold to Italians.
Erika, now known as Erika Plank, transferred ownership of the building to her son Gerold and his wife Helga in 1991.
Between 1994 and 1998, the building was renovated to ensure that it conformed to best practices in environmental health. While the renovations were going on, it was discovered that the walls of the playhouse showcased beautiful murals, with the odd bullet hole here and there.
As a result, the building with the playhouse became a listed building.